The Annette and Jim McConnell Teacher of the Year Awards honor the best history teacher each year at the elementary, high school, and pre-service levels. 

The McConnells are steadfast supporters of history education in Michigan and have been a driving force to keep the past alive in all corners of the state.

To Nominate a Teacher:

Send a nomination letter that should explain the attributes of the nominee as well as the description of a particular lesson. 1-3 additional letters of recommendation should be included in your nomination.  Additional items that are encouraged in any nomination are lesson plans, copies of anonymous student work, and student testimonials.

Send nominations by MAY 1 each year to:

Dr. Anne-Lise Halvorsen

4333 Commonweath Street

Detroit, MI 48208

Or via email to:

2018 Winners

Elementary: Beth Fortino - Miller Elementary, Huron School District

High School: Paul Scheidler - Hartland High School

Pre-Service: Jordan Yost - Michigan State University

  • White Instagram Icon

Contact Us


Tamara Shreiner, Ph.D.

Executive Director Michigan Council for History Education

Associate Professor - History, Social Studies Education

Grand Valley State University

D-1-214 Mackinac Hall

1 Campus Drive

Allendale, MI 49401

(616) 313-8568