The Gilder-Lehrman Teacher of the Year Award

Who is eligible?


Any full-time educator of grades K–12 who teaches American history (including state and local history) is eligible for consideration. American history may be taught as an individual subject or as part of other subjects, such as social studies, reading, or language arts. 

  • The nominated teacher must have at least three years of classroom teaching experience.      

  • Nominees must be planning to teach for at least one year following the award year.

  • Past state and national winners are not eligible.

  • Self-nominations are not accepted.

To Nominate A Teacher

Visit the Gilder-Lehrman website here to nominate a teacher in Michigan. Deadline is March 31, 2020.

Or use this nomination form.

Michigan's 2020 Winner

Zach MacIntosh

Baker Middle School

Troy School District

Learn About Zach Here.

For More Information:


Dr. Anne-Lise Halvorsen

  • White Instagram Icon

Contact Us


Tamara Shreiner, Ph.D.

Executive Director Michigan Council for History Education

Associate Professor - History, Social Studies Education

Grand Valley State University

D-1-214 Mackinac Hall

1 Campus Drive

Allendale, MI 49401

(616) 313-8568